Yemi Aiyegbusi Wins Ekiti SDP Governorship Primary Election

A Businessman, Mr Yemi Aiyegbusi, has emerged as the candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) for the Ekiti state governorship election scheduled to hold on July 14, 2018.

Aiyegbusi was announced as the winner after polling 16,921 as against his contenders, Dare Bejide who polled 14, 783 votes and Lamide Oni who had 4,252.

Unlike the approach adopted by other parties in conducting primaries, the SDP did not use delegates for its primaries.

Rather, all members of the party voted for the candidate of their choice and subsequently, the election held at the various wards.

The SDP held its primary two days after the incumbent Deputy Governor of Ekiti, Professor Kolapo Olusola, won the PDP governorship primary.

After failing to pick a candidate for the race on Saturday last week as its primary ended in violence, the All Progressives Congress will take another shot at the primary on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ekiti APC Shifts Primary to Saturday

60 Young Nigerians To Participate In Mandela Fellowship In US