Government & Politics

APC Wins Edo Council Polls

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has been announced winner of the council polls conducted last Saturday in the 18 local government areas.

Results declared by the Edo State Independent Electoral Commission showed that the APC defeated nine political parties.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)boycotted the election and instituted legal action challenging the processes leading to the conduct of the election.

The election was generally peaceful and witnessed huge turnout of voters in some areas.

Announcing the results, Chairman of the Edo State Independent Electoral Commission, Prof. Stanley Orobator, said the Certificate of Return would be presented to winners on Monday.

Prof. Orobator commended the conduct of the polls.

Chieftain of the APC in Esan North East, Prince Joe Okojie, described the election as a death knell of the PDP in the state.

Prince Okojie said the PDP willingly opted out of the polls because it did not want to exposed itself to its national officers that the party is depleted.

Some of the elected council chairmen are, Mrs. Eghe Ogbemudia (Egor) Destiny Enabulele(Ovia South West) Patrick Aguinede (Esan West) Musa Yakubu (Estako West) Esan Central (Waziri Idemudia) Joseph Odia (Igueben) Frank Ilaboya (Owan West) Emuakhagbon Victor (Esan South East) Jelkins Osunde (Oredo) Dr. Eric Osayande (Ikpoba-Okha) Ogbemudia Osaze (Ovia North East) Andrew Osigwe (Owan East) and Sylvester Okoro(Orhiomwon).

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *